Roasted Garlic

I’m really trying not to make this into a food blog. I swear. I just happen to love food… and taking pictures of it, and talking about it. So, it keeps showing up on here!

Roasted garlic and various uses

I’ve been away from the computer lately. Soaking up the beautiful weather. On Thursday, we went to a little lake with a few friends and their kids. What a great way to mix up the week. Weeks are so long when they are filled with, “work, home, dinner, bath, bed, repeat” This year my goal is to add activities into the middle of the week. Yeah, the kids get to bed late and routines are broken, but for me living in the present moment is also about not waiting for the weekend to enjoy. Bring on weeknights! I have also been putting a lot of thought into a few more “Zen” posts that I am looking forward to sharing. Stay tuned!

I love roasted garlic. We have been buying a lot of it lately, whole huge sleeves, and roasting 4-5 heads at a time. There is nothing I won’t put roasted garlic in. If you think garlic will work in what you are cooking, put in a whole head. Roasting it tones down the pungent flavour and really sweetens it. So good.

I fully realize this isn’t rocket science and that you likely already know how to roast garlic. I just wanted to write about something that I really love and use often and put it out there as a reminder, “Remember this little gem!”

I often serve it along with crackers and goat cheese for a simple appetizer.
Pasta salad
Sandwiches
Spinach dip
Serve with wine and a delicious cheese for a weeknight date after the kids are in bed!

DSC_0426 Uses for roasted garlic

There are also many health benefits of eating garlic. It is widely known as a powerful antioxidant. It fights disease with vitamin C, selenium and manganese. (www.livestrong.com)

To roast, I cut the top off the head, drizzle it with olive oil and top it with salt and pepper. Then, I wrap it into a foil bundle, not too tight, put it in an oven safe dish and roast it for 35-45 minutes on 375 degrees.

Get ready for a great smelling house.

roasted garlic

roasted garlicroasted garlic*Insert tooth brush picture here*

What do you add roasted garlic to? ~ Kristin

Please, share your thoughts! Leave a Reply

