Easy Make Ahead Frittata

(Please sign up for email notifications, to the right, and follow my humble little blog on facebook)

I find cooking a decent breakfast during the week challenging. I’m sure it is a matter of time until we eat cereal each and every day, but right now the idea of that just bores me. I love making this frittata, or egg casserole. This is the only breakfast casserole I have actually enjoyed (No, that is a lie. I make a mean french toast casserole that I will post in the near future!) I mix this up and bake it on a Sunday night so that we have a good start to the week and Monday goes as smoothly as possible.

Make ahead egg casserole www.heartofafarmgirl.wordpress.com

I am not a morning person. I wait until the last possible second to pull myself out of bed, with JUST enough time to get out the door to work. At that point, I don’t even have the time to eat cereal so I heat this in a frying pan (We don’t have a microwave) while I am getting ready, wrap it in a tortilla shell and run out the door.

This is also great because clean up is easy. I used to always make a similar thing in muffin tins, until I clued in that scraping the muffin tin every time was a giant waste of my time.

Ingredients:

8 eggs
¾ cup milk
2 tbs flour
1 cup of veggies and meat (I used diced ‘Naturals’ ham, broccoli, tomato and finely diced onion)
½ cup of melting cheese (anything you have, I’ve added 1/4c feta or parmesan which were good!)

2 tsp of your favourite spice blend. Garlic, parsley, italian, smoked paprika…

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together eggs, milk and flour and pour into a well greased pan.  Top with remaining ingredients, and give it a little stir. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.

Easy Make Ahead Frittata casserole

It should still be slightly loose in the middle and will set while it cools for five minutes. Serve after it has cooled or cover and put it in the fridge over night until breakfast. Try not to overcook it. Don’t get too fussy about the ingredients and just throw what you have in the pan.

And how great would this be to give a new mom!? A friend of mine is going to ‘pop’ any day. Perhaps I will whip one up for her!

Enjoy,

Kristin

Please, share your thoughts! Leave a Reply

